>Passion Pit- Manners

01. Make Light
02. Little Secrets
03. Moth’s Wings
04. The Reeling
05. Eyes As Candles
06. Swimming In The Flood
07. Folds In Your Hands
08. To Kingdom Come
9. Sleepyhead
10. Let Your Love Grow Tall
11. Seaweed Song

From the first notes of Passion Pits’s newest release Manners I got the feeling of British pop. As I continued to listen my ear was really hooked; on the great voice of front man Michael Angelakos. It is catchy and poppy but not in the way Big Al and I bump Houston radio tracks. It has a very similar feel to early, early Pink Floyd (see Piper at the Gates Dawn) and other British Psychedelia. The music alone stands for itself without the great lyrics found on the first track “So I try and I scream and I beg and I sigh, Just to prove I’m Alive.” I also dig the drums on almost every track. They go from standard rock to fast tempo dancing running techno, gotta love the diversity. You can tell each musician knows what they are doing. The second track drops hard with some cheesy 80’s synthesizer, and then the drums hit that industrial beat. Great vocals again. I definitely pick up a consistent feel and style to this CD even though there is a good deal of diversity in separate tracks. I will admit I did not completely praise it at first but in the past week I have grabbed this CD numerous times. Blast the first two tracks at 11 in a good car stereo and tell me they don’t rock.
If you disagree comment.

Download Hera:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: